#### MIAMI VALLEY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION BOARD OF DIRECTORS MINUTES

# Dayton Realtors 1515 S. Main Street, Dayton, OH 45402

#### Members/Voting Alternates

John Agenbroad, City of Springboro Tom Arnold, ODOT District 8 Robert Beeler, AES-Ohio Rebecca Benná, Five Rivers MetroParks Katelyn Berbach, City of Tipp City Dale Berry, Washington Township Donald Burchett, City of Moraine Steve Byington, City of Oakwood Nancy Byrge, City of Huber Heights Michelle Collins, City of Miamisburg Judy Dodge, Montgomery County Joanna Garcia, City of Beavercreek Georgeann Godsey, Harrison Township Joseph Graves, Troy Area Chamber of Commerce Paul Grunner, Montgomery County Eng. David Haber, Preble County Walt Hibner, CenterPoint Energy Sonja Keaton, City of Brookville Paul Keller. City of Fairborn Debbie Kemper, Municipality of Carlisle Tony Klepacz, City of Kettering Tom Koogler, Greene County Sara Lommatzsch, City of Riverside Jeffery Mims, City of Dayton Chris Mucher, Miami Township, Greene County Robin Oda, City of Troy Harold Robinson, City of West Carrollton Bob Ruzinsky, Greater Dayton RTA Jeff Sheridan, Village of West Milton Greg Simmons, Miami County Woody Stroud, Greene County Transit Pat Turnbull, City of Centerville Beth van Haaren, Bethel Township Debborah Wallace, Beavercreek Township

August 5, 2021 9:00 AM

#### **Other Alternates/Guests**

Bobbi Bowling, Central State University Elmer Dudas, City of Springboro Craig Eley, Choice One Eng Dan Hoying, LJB Patrick Titterington, City of Troy Jeff Wallace, Barge Design

#### Staff Present

Serena Anderson Paul Arnold Savannah Diamond Laura Henry Tawana Keels Teresa Lombardelli Mike Lucas Brian Martin Melissa Swain

The Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission Board of Directors met on August 5, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. at Dayton Realtors 1515 S. Main St., Dayton, Ohio 45402. All members and news media were notified of the meeting pursuant to the Sunshine Law.

# I. INTRODUCTIONS

Chairperson Mucher called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. Self-introductions were made. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by Chairperson Mucher.

# II. APPROVAL OF JUNE 3, 2021 MEETING MINUTES

Ms. Wallace made a motion to approve the minutes from the June 3, 2021 Board meeting. Ms. Garcia seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# III. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD ON ACTION ITEMS

None

# IV. RPC (REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION) ACTION ITEMS

#### A. Recommendation of members and chair for the Institute for Livable and Equitable Communities Steering Committee (ISC) by the Nomination Committee

Ms. Dodge provided an update on the ISC Nominations Committee meeting from July 29, 2021 where the Nomination Committee members reviewed and evaluated the resumes received. The Board members who served on the Nomination Committee were Ms. Berbach, Ms. Dodge, and Mr. Stroud.

Ms. Dodge announced the recommended Institute Steering Committee Members and Alternates:

- 1. Dave Haber, Preble County
- 2. Matt Joseph, City of Dayton
- 3. Judy Dodge (member), Geraldine Pegues (alternate), Montgomery County
- 4. Bill Serr, City of Centerville
- 5. Jeff Hoagland (member), David Burrows (alternate) Dayton Development Coalition
- 6. Mike Parks, The Dayton Foundation
- 7. Chris Mucher, Miami Township, Greene County
- 8. Becky Benná, Five River MetroParks
- 9. Mary McDonald (member), Rap Hankins (alternate)
- 10. Debborah Wallace, Beavercreek Township (Also recommended to serve as Chair)
- 11. Nancy Byrge (member), Sarah Williams (alternate) City of Huber Heights
- 12. Kristina Scott, Learn to Earn Dayton
- 13. Shannon Isom, Dayton YWCA

The floor was then opened the floor for questions.

Ms. Dodge stated the ISC Nomination Committee recommends the Board of Directors approval for the Institute Steering Committee members.

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chairperson Lommatzsch made a motion to approve the list of recommended Institute Steering Committee members. Mr. Mims seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## V. MPO (METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION) ACTION ITEMS

#### A. Recommended Adoption of Amendment #11 to MVRPC's SFY 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Mr. Arnold referred to the 11th amendment to the SFY 2021-2024 TIP and the numerous project changes made by MVRPC and ODOT. He referred to the packet showing the tables broken down by county, as well as the statewide line item project tables. Mr. Arnold stated that MVRPC Staff and the Technical Advisory Committee recommend adoption of Amendment #11 to the SFY2021-SFY2024 Transportation Improvement Program.

Ms. Dodge made a motion to adopt the Amendment #11 to MVRPC's SFY 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). Mr. Berry seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

## A. Miami Valley Regional Active Transportation Plan Update

Ms. Anderson provided an update on the Miami Valley Regional Active Transportation Plan. She discussed the next stage for the Regional Bikeways Plan, and explained the Active Transportation Plan will expand the scope to Biking, Walking and Transit Access. The Active Transportation Plan will be a comprehensive review of the infrastructure and policies to make walking, biking, and transit access more convenient and safe for our region. The plan will give attention to connectivity, safety and equity such as sidewalk infrastructure, transit access and bicycling system. Ms. Anderson announced ODOT is about to finalize their Walk. Bike. Ohio Plan the State's first bike and pedestrian policy plan. MVRPC will align the Active Transportation Plan with Ohio's Walk. Bike. Ohio Policy Plan. Ms. Anderson also mentioned the Active Transportation plan will interface with MVRPC's Regional Equity Initiative and Age- Friendly Communities work. The planning process began July 2021 and is anticipated to take one year. Ms. Anderson opened the floor for questions.

## VII. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

## A. Staff Updates

Mr. Martin introduced the MVRPC staff hired during the pandemic: Serena Anderson, Melissa Swain, Andrew Dibert, Savannah Diamond, Milo Simpson, and Tawana Keels. He also announced the departure of Carlton Eley, the former Regional Equity Manager.

Mr. Martin introduced Leigh Sempeles. Ms. Semples is a Del Mar Encore Fellow working for the Dayton Foundation and in partnership with MVRPC, on the Age- Friendly Communities Initiative.

## **B. Executive Director's Update**

Mr. Martin reviewed the August ED's Update:

- U.S. Department of Transportation and MVRPC to Host a Virtual Open House/ Public Participation Meeting Regarding the Regional Transportation Planning Process
- Environmental Justice Academy Receives 25 Applicants
- Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission Launches Equity Events Calendar
- MVRPC to Craft First Regional Active Transportation Plan
- MVRPC Participates in ESRI GIS User Conference
- UnDesign the Redline Exhitbit at the Dayton Metro Library- Main Campus

- Miami Valley Roads.org: Airport Area Projects
- Grants and Funding Resources
- Staff Highlights
- Upcoming MVRPC August Meetings

# C. Undesign the Redline

Mr. Martin invited the members to attend the UnDesign the Redline Exhibit. The event kicks off August 5, 2021 at 5pm at the Dayton Metro Library Main Campus.

## D. In-person Meetings

Mr. Martin reminded the members to RSVP for the next meeting. Due to social distancing the number of seats is limited.

## VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Chairperson Chris Mucher called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Stroud made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Keller seconded the motion. Chairperson Mucher called the meeting adjourned at 9:52 a.m.

Brian O. Martin, AICP Executive Director **Sara Lommatzsch** 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chairperson

Date: