# MIAMI VALLEY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MARCH 3, 2016 MINUTES

# **Members/Voting Alternates**

Robert Baird, City of Bellbrook Richard Barnhart, City of West Carrollton Doug Barry, Miami Township-Mont. Co. Michael Beamish, City of Trov Rebecca Benna, Five Rivers Metro Parks Katelyn Berbach, City of Tipp City Dale Berry, Washington Township Judy Blankenship, City of Huber Heights Janet Bly, Miami Conservancy District Steve Boeder, Municipality of Germantown John Bruns, City of Union Sherry Callahan, Municipality of Carlisle Tammy Campbell, ODOT District 8 Richard Church, City of Miamisburg Mark Donaghy, Greater Dayton RTA Elmer Dudas, City of Springboro James Gorman, City of Clayton Carol Graff, Beavercreek Township Arthur Haddad, Troy Chamber of Commerce Robert Hickey, Wright State University Jerome Hirt, Bethel Township Mary Johnson, Jefferson Township Tony Klepacz, City of Kettering Sara Lommatzsch, City of Riverside Jim McGuire, City of Moraine Chris Mucher, Miami Township - Greene Co. John O'Brien, Miami County Matt Parrill. ODOT District 7 Gerald Peters, Perry Township Amy Schrimpf, Dayton Development Coalition David Seagraves, City of Brookville
Arlene Setzer, City of Vandalia
Mehdi Sharzi, Vectren Energy
Gary Shoup, Montgomery Co. Engineer's
Regan Snider, Miami County Transit
Mike Stevens, City of Clayton
Woody Stroud, Greene County Transit
Charles Vaughn, City of Trotwood
William Vogt, City of Piqua
Debborah Wallace, City of Beavercreek
Karen Wintrow, Village of Yellow Springs

# Other Alternates/Guests

Beth Callahan, Franklin Township Tim Eggleston, Tipp City Steve Finke, City of Dayton Richard Henry, LWV Dan Hoying, LJB, Inc. Jeff Mutter, Harrison Township Jeff Wallace, Parsons Brinckerhoff Chad Whilding, City of Beavercreek

#### Staff Present

Paul Arnold Ann Burns Tim Gilliland Laura Henry Martin Kim Brian Martin Bob Steinbach

### I. INTRODUCTION

Interim Chair Graff called the meeting to order. Self-introductions were made. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

#### II. APPROVAL OF FEBRUARY 4, 2015 MEETING MINUTES

Ms. Wallace made a motion to approve minutes. Mr. Kirkpatrick seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

#### III. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD ON ACTION ITEMS

None

#### IV. REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION ACTION ITEMS

#### A. Election of Officers

#### 1. Report of the Nominating Committee

Mr. Beamish referred to a memo on page 5 of the mailout reporting that the Nominating Committee met reviewed and evaluated the applications received for all three positions. As a result, the following slate of candidates is unanimously recommended by the Nominating Committee to the Board of Directors for approval:

Carol Graff Chair

John O'Brien 1st Vice Chair John Beals 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair

Chair Graff called for any additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Mr. Hirt moved to close the nominations. Mr. Vogt seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 2. Election of Officers

Mr. Hirt moved to accept the slate of candidates as presented. Mr. Vogt seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# V. MPO (METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION) ACTION ITEMS

# A. Adoption of Amendment to MVRPC's SFY2016-2019 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Mr. Arnold referred to a memo on page 6 of the mailout explaining that numerous modifications to the programming documents for various projects has resulted in the need for a TIP amendment. He referred to the project tables for each county as well as the areawide projects. Mr. Arnold stated that staff as well as TAC does recommend adoption of this TIP amendment, and referred to a resolution on page 18 of the mailout. Ms. Wallace made a motion to recommend adoption. Ms. Wintrow seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# B. Approval of CY2016 STP and TA Projects

Mr. Arnold referred to a memo on page 19 of the mailout as well as project tables for both STP and TA projects that are being recommended for funding. He provided background on the solicitation process which included a Public Participation meeting back on November 5<sup>th</sup>. He reviewed the 27 STP projects totaling \$17.4M as well as the 6 TA projects totaling \$1.5M. Mr. Arnold explained that upon Board approval, staff will be sending approval letters to project sponsors. The mailout also provided a table showing the projects that are not receiving funding at this time. Mr. Arnold encouraged project sponsors to work closely with their ODOT district representatives. He also requested that MVRPC be mentioned in any communications or press releases regarding these projects. Also, in an effort to inform the public about what kinds of services MVRPC provides to our member jurisdictions, he suggested that if project sponsors are already intending to provide some temporary signage at the construction site during the duration of the project, that MVRPC's logo be included. Mr. Arnold stated that both staff and TAC recommend adoption of the resolution on page 30 of the mailout. Mr. Vogt made a motion to approve. Mr. Gorman seconded. The motion carried.

#### VI. EXCUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

ADJOURNMENT

VII.

Date

Mr. Martin referred to his March report stating that MVRPC staff hosted a workshop on Best Practices for the Emerald Ash Borer on February 25 that was very well attended. He announced that that the MVRPC Spring Dinner is scheduled for April 14<sup>th</sup> and the deadline for registration is April 1, 2016. Mr. Martin reviewed other announcements from his report including MVRPC recently received a Hermes Silver Addy Award, the MVRPC Photo Contest for the LRTP, and current grant opportunities. His report also included a list of upcoming MVRPC Meetings. Mr. Martin reminded the Board that the caucus to select the Executive Committee will be held immediately following the meeting.

# Mr. Peters made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Donaghy seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Brian O. Martin, AICP Executive Director Carol Graff Chairperson